South Africa

Republic of South Africa (RSA)

South Africa

Officially the Republic of South Africa, it is the southernmost country in the African continent.

The country has three capitals, Pretoria (executive), Cape Town (legislative), and Bloemfontein (judicial). The largest city is Johannesburg. With a population of over 60 million people, South Africa is now the twenty-fifth most populous country in the world.

Coat of arms of South Africa

Map of South Africa

Flag of South Africa:

Black: Symbolizes the African community

Gold: Represents the mineral wealth of the country.

Blue: Represents the endless possibilities for South Africans

White: A symbol of peace

"Y" shape: Symbolizes the mix of different elements and the journey ahead toward unity.

Natural Resources and Economy

Although the economy of South Africa is the second largest in Africa, it is still the most technology advanced and industrialized. South Africa is one of the worlds leading mining countries, and also the world's largest platinum, chromium, and manganese exporter. In 2018, mining contributed 24 billion USD to the South African GDP. Tourism is also important in the South African economy, 16.65 million tourists visited the country, tourism supports 10% of jobs in the country. South Africa has a complicated financial structure, the largest in Africa and is ranked 17th in the world in 2020. South Africa is one of the largest producers of chicory roots (4th), grapefruit (4th), and cereals (5th), the country's agriculture industry contributes around 5% of formal employment, low comparing with other African countries. South Africa is in the G20, and is the only African member.

Government and Political Situations

With a Freedom House Score of 79, South Africa is currently a free country.